Mayors of 11 Oregon cities join Mayors Day of Recognition

by Jared Paben

Mayors in 11 Oregon cities have signed up to participate in the annual Mayors Day of Recognition, which highlights the impact national service programs have on our cities.

On the Mayors Day of Recognition, April 1, mayor from around the country will use traditional and social media to highlight the value and impact of national service to their cities. Last year, 832 mayors representing nearly 100 million people participated in the inaugural event.

So far this year, mayors of the following cities have signed up:

  • La Pine
  • Oregon City
  • Pendleton
  • Pilot Rock
  • Prineville
  • Portland
  • Rogue River
  • Scappoose
  • Springfield
  • Waldport
  • Woodburn

Mayors who want to participate can sign up here.

The initiative is being led by the Corporation for National and Community Service; Cities of Service; the National League of Cities; and Mesa, AZ, Mayor Scott Smith, President of the U.S. Conference of Mayors.

Posted on March 3, 2014.